New Year, New Method

I will be trying a new (for me) method in the new year as soon as I can propagate enough ficus via cuttings.

From now on I’m going to make a point to only use identical genetic material in each fusion project. I’ll probably use a seed warming mat and try to root microcarpa cuttings in water as I’ve done before.

Anyhow, I searched for a while to find a cone-shaped, solid wood base to serve as the shape of a future tree. You’d never think such a thing would be so difficult to find.  I plan to use small finish nails this time as another enthusiast demonstrates in his blog.

I’m also going to screw the cone to a tile from underneath.  I should be able to develop an awesome nebari from the very start this way.

Excited for the project.  Stay tuned ….

20131221-083603.jpg

20131221-083615.jpg

Leave a comment